Description - Nestled on the shores of Shadehill Reservoir, the park offers visitors the opportunity to enjoy land- and water-based activities. The reservoir is one of western South Dakota’s few large lakes. The dam, built in 1951 by the Bureau of Reclamation, creates more than 5,000 surface acres of water creating fun for everyone.
Many historic figures have crossed through the Shadehill area, including Hugh Glass and Custer's 1874 Expedition. In 1823, Glass was attacked by a grizzly bear in this area, which is documented in the novel Lord Grizzly.
- Shadehill offers 52 electrical campsites and two camping cabins. The two-bedroom lodge is a favorite of large groups, particularly of families and groups of hunters or anglers. The lodge is furnished. Guests need only to bring personal items and food. Click here for photos of the lodge.
Across the reservoir, the Hugh Glass Lakeside Use Area offers 13 non-electrical primitive campsites for horse campers on a first-come, first-served basis.
Recreation - Horseback riding. Four picnic areas and two picnic shelters. Playground. Volleyball. Historical interest.
Swimming/Beaches: One beach. No lifeguard on duty. Swim at your own risk.
Fishing/Boating: Fish cleaning station. Three boat ramps. Walleye, smallmouth bass, crappies and others. License required.
Located 14 miles south of Lemmon off SD Highway 73