Home | Getting Started | Gift Center | Gear Store | Topo Maps | My Wildernet | Newsletter Signup
North Dakota > Audubon Wetland Management District
Activity Locator:

Audubon Wetland Management District

Audubon Wetland Management District
   Customized Topo Maps and Aerial Photos
Outdoor Gear and Clothing

Search by Name within North Dakota:

Trip Planner

Hotels Airline Tickets Car Rentals
B&Bs Yellow Pages City Guide

General Information

Description - Audubon Wetland Management District (WMD) includes Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA), FmHA Easements, Refuge & Wetland & Grassland Easements and Wildlife Development Areas (WDA) located in Ward, Sheridan, Hettinger and McLean Counties in north-central North Dakota. The district is administered from Audubon NWR headquarters. The landscape is characterized by rolling hills and small wetlands interspersed with small grain farms and cattle ranches. The area is part of the prairie pothole country historically known for it's waterfowl production.

The WMD includes 100 Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA's) scattered throughout the county areas. WPA's are fee owned properties (18,424 acres) that vary in size from 20 to 1,500 acres. Other district responsibilities include seven easement Refuges (7,043 acres) where ownership is restricted to wildlife and water protection on private lands. The WMD has 82,031 acres of wetland easements involving 1,210 contracts on private lands. Wetlands are protected from drainage, filling and burning under this program. Similar to the wetland easement, the WMD has two grassland easements protecting 4,362 acres from being plowed up. Under a cooperative program with the US Dept. of Agriculture, 15 Farmers Home Administration (FmHA) easements protect 7,046 acres on private lands. This program involves wetland and blocks of upland vegetation under protection.

The WDA's are mitigation lands transferred from the Bureau of Reclamation for the Garrison Diversion Irrigation Project . The water delivery canal (McClusky Canal) is the site of most WDAs, Sheridan and McLean counties. There are eighteen WDAs from 60 to 3,450 acres in size and totaling 10,540 acres. One in Hettinger County. These properties are owned by the Service in fee title allowing total management activity.

In addition to Service land management, district personnel work with agricultural, county, state, federal and private groups to enhance area wildlife and their habitat on private land, Partners for Wildlife work including one full time, term appointed worker.

Location - The Audubon Wetland Management District is located in Ward, Sheridan, Hettinger and McLean Counties in north-central North Dakota.

Current Conditions & Trip Reports

Trip Reports:
Add your own trip Report! Newly re-released feature. One of the most popular features on Wildernet, trip reports allow you to share your experiences with others. This is an invaluable resource for determining what to expect on your outdoor adventure, so please participate! To prevent spamming, you must be a registered user of Wildernet in order to submit a trip report

No trip reports filed to date. Please be the first one to do so!

More Information

Additional Information:
North Dakota Wetland Manegement Districts -

Audubon WMD - Official agency website


About Wildernet |  Email to a Friend  |  Disclaimer |  Privacy |  Contact Us  | Comments & Suggestions
Advertisers & Sponsors |  Owners & Operators |  Tourism Promotors
©1995-2019 Interactive Outdoors Inc. All rights reserved.